Family lunch at Ridley Arms, Stannington

wpid-img_20141025_183050.jpg

I rarely get the courage to mix kids and a pub lunch, given that my children seem unable to sit still at a table without food in front of them for more than about 60 seconds. But I was glad I did today when we kicked off the half term with a visit to the Ridley Arms in Stannington.

Much larger than it seems on the outside, it’s vast inside and geared up for the arrival of young families, with stacks of crayons and colouring pictures all ready to go.

wpid-img_20141025_193423.jpg

I was impressed with the quality of the children’s meals – mine choosing a pizza and popcorn chicken followed by an adult-sized slab of delicious sticky toffee pudding that I stared at longingly, all for £5.95.

The other half won the prize for best choice of meal with his belly pork washed down with a pint of Alnwick Amber Ale. I’m not usually one for snapping plates of food, but I thought this dish was worth it as it did look lovely.

My goats cheese and pesto brushetta from the lunch special menu and a half of a Tyneside Blonde was also delicious.

Just off the A1, The Ridley Arms is a handy spot for a post/pre walk lunch. This time we’d been to Plesssey Woods first,  but it’s also just a few minutes drive to Northumberlandia.

Look out for the horses in the field by the car park too before you go.

LINKS:

Ridley Arms

Plessey Woods

Northumberlandia

wpid-img_20141025_114232.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

wpid-img_20140730_204629.jpg

Published by

northeastwithkids

Northumberland mum-of-two

Leave a comment